Skip to main content

Rapid Antigen Tests

For "early identification, early isolation and early treatment”, the Government is procuring Rapid Antigen Test (RAT) kits in bulk for various groups of people for testing. The objective is to identify those who have been infected and sever transmission chains at the earliest possible time.

An RAT is designed to directly detect SARS-CoV-2 virus proteins (antigens) in respiratory specimens. It is intended for qualitative detection of antigens in specimens from individuals with suspected infections. As such, it should be used in conjunction with the results of clinical interpretation and other laboratory tests. Different brands of tests are available in the market. Most of them require nasal or nasopharyngeal swab samples or deep throat saliva samples. The test is easy to perform.

How to choose RAT kits?

You can purchase RAT kits for voluntary testing. There is sufficient supply in the market, so please do not hoard. When choosing RAT kits from the market, you may make reference to the following lists:

  1. Department of Health, Hong Kong SAR: Listed Rapid Antigen Tests for COVID-19 under the Medical Device Administrative Control System
  2. National Medical Products Administration: List of approved medical devices for COVID-19 preventive and control uses (Chinese version only)
  3. European Union: Common list of COVID-19 rapid antigen tests
  4. U.S. Food and Drug Administration: List of SARS-CoV-2 antigen diagnostic tests with Emergency Use Authorization

Or check out Consumer Council's dedicated webpage:

Search Tool

Free distribution of RAT kits by the Government

The Government is distributing free RAT kits to the following groups of people:

Rapid Antigen Test Kits

How to do an RAT?

You can do the test yourself and it is easy to perform.

Points to note

Clean the surface
before you start
Gently blow your nose
before starting
Wash hands
before the test
Open the test kit
right before the test
Do not touch
the tip of the swab

 

Read the follow instructions carefully and strictly

Take adequate sample
Mix swab properly
with testing solution
Put testing kit
on a flat surface
Drip the exact number
of drops of sample
solution in the sample well
Read the result within
the time specified

Doing an RAT for children? Check out the experts’ advice.

Personal hygiene

Wash your hands before and after the test. Find a clean, well-ventilated spot to do the test. Clear up non-essential items around you. Keep a distance of at least 2 metres from other people. If the surrounding environment is contaminated, disinfect with 1-in-49 diluted bleach. For metallic surfaces, use 70% alcohol to disinfect.

Record the result

Take a photo of the result if you are undergoing "StayHomeSafe" or are tested positive. The photo is needed for reporting.

How to read the test?

The presentation of test results vary between brands. Please refer to the user guide of each brand.

Check out the demonstration video.

What if the test result is positive?

Protocol for testing positive by RAT

If you are tested positive by RAT, please take all necessary steps to avoid further spreading the virus.

Stay home, avoid going out. If the home environment allows, please stay in your own room and keep the door closed. No one else should be allowed to enter the room. If you have to leave the room, please wear a well-fitted surgical mask properly. At all times, take personal protective measures.

If you are tested positive by RAT for the first time, report via the online platform “Declaration System for individuals tested positive for COVID-19 using Rapid Antigen Test” within 24 hours. If you have difficulties with the online platform, call the automated system at 1836 119 to register your identification document and telephone number. The Centre for Health Protection will contact you later to finish the reporting procedure. All cases reported through the system will be required to undergo nucleic acid test by the Centre for Health Protection of the Department of Health. Cases confirmed to be negative by the nucleic acid test will be deleted from the confirmed case record. The relevant persons will no longer be able to use the quarantine orders issued by the Government, recovery QR code records or any other relevant documents as a proof of recovery.

Declaration System for individuals tested positive for COVID-19 using Rapid Antigen Test

Watch this demo video on using the declaration system.

Keep track of your health conditions:

  • Do you only have mild symptoms? If you only have a mild fever, cough or sore throat, or no symptoms at all, based on risk assessment, the Centre for Health Protection will arrange for you to isolate either at a Community Isolation Facility or at home temporarily. Click the hyperlinks to learn about next steps, until you are discharged from isolation: infographics | details

    While isolating at home:

    The Government will distribute anti-epidemic kits to each person confirmed positive and his/her household members in phases.

    For help with daily needs, please call the hotline 1836 119.

    For medical advice, please call Hospital Authority’s hotline 1836 115.

    Check out the Rapid Antigen Test ‧ Positive Result ‧ Pending Admission ‧ StayHomeSafe Infostation for more practical advice.

  • Are you feeling unwell? If you have the following warning symptoms, please visit a hospital accident & emergency department (A&E) directly: persistent fever (>38.5℃) for more than 2 days despite fever-reducing medicine*; body temperature at 35℃ or below; convulsion; difficulty in breathing or shortness of breath; loss of speech or mobility; inability to wake up or stay conscious; pain in chest or abdomen; dizziness or confusion; weakness or unsteadiness; decreased or no movement of fetus for women pregnant for 24 weeks or more; persistent inability to drink or eat, or diarrhoea / vomiting for more than 2 days.
    *Please follow the medication instruction on intake of fever-reducing medicine and watch out for overdose.

  • If you are elderly patient aged 70 or above, a child aged 5 or below, pregnant woman at 28 or more weeks of gestation, or in an immunosuppressive state, when symptoms show, please arrange an appointment at the Hospital Authority’s Designated Clinics for COVID-19 Confirmed Cases or seek medical advice via tele-consultation.

The guidelines on this website will be updated from time to time to provide information most suited to people tested positive but pending admission. Please stay tuned.

What if the test result is negative?

You are likely not infected. However, RAT has its limitations in terms of sensitivity. A single negative RAT result cannot preclude the possibility that you have been infected but are in the period of incubation, or that you are at an early stage of infection. Please remain vigilant and take all anti-epidemic measures. If you have symptoms or high exposure risk, continue to get tested repeatedly within a short period of time and closely monitor your health conditions.

Learn more

For more information on RATs, please refer to the FAQs and relevant infographics.

快速抗原測試

為達致「早發現、早隔離、早治療」的目標,政府正採購大量快速抗原測試(RAT)包,供不同群組人士進行檢測,以盡早識別出患者及截斷病毒傳播鏈。

快速抗原測試用作直接驗出呼吸道樣本中SARS-CoV-2病毒的蛋白質(抗原)。快速抗原測試需結合臨床診斷和其他實驗室測試的結果,以完成對疑似感染者樣本中的抗原擬作定性檢測。現時市場上有不同製造商的測試可供選擇,大部分採集鼻腔或鼻咽拭子樣本或深喉唾液樣本。這項測試的操作流程簡單。

如何自行選擇快速抗原測試包?

市民可向市面零售商購買快速抗原測試包作自願測試。目前市場仍有足夠的供應,大家無需囤貨。選擇購買市面的快速抗原測試包時,可參閱以下連結所載名單:

  1. 香港特別行政區衞生署醫療儀器行政管理制度下已表列的2019冠狀病毒病快速抗原測試
  2. 國家藥品監督管理局批准的新冠疫情防控醫療器械產品名單
  3. 歐盟2019冠狀病毒病快速抗原測試通用名單(只備英文版本)
  4. 美國食品及藥物管理局發出有關認可緊急使用的抗原測試劑名單(只備英文版本)

或可參考消費者委員會有關的網頁:

搜尋器

免費由政府派發快速抗原測試包

政府會向以下群組人士免費提供快速抗原測試包:

快速抗原測試包概覧

如何測試?

快速抗原測試可以自行進行,步驟很簡單。

注意事項

開始前
先清潔桌面
採樣前先
輕輕擤鼻子
檢測前先
清潔雙手
在即將檢測前
才開啟測試套裝
不要用手接觸
採樣棒的末端

 

小心閱讀說明書並嚴謹跟隨指示

取足夠的樣本
將採樣棒
與測試溶液
正確地混合
把測試棒放在
一個平的表面
把準確滴數的
測試溶液
滴入樣品孔
在指定時間
內讀取結果

如何為幼童進行快速抗原測試?看看專家建議

注意個人衞生

測試前後,請清潔雙手。採集呼吸道樣本時,找一個乾凈、通風的地方,四周盡量減少放置非必要的用品。應與他人保持最少2米距離。環境如受污染,應以1比49稀釋家用漂白水進行環境清潔工作。至於金屬表面,則需要以70%酒精消毒。

記錄測試結果

進行「居安抗疫」或結果呈陽性人士,務必拍照記錄結果作申報之用。

如何辨識測試結果?

不同品牌的測試提供不同方法顯示測試結果。使用時請參考個別品牌使用說明書。

請參考此示範短片。

若測試呈陽性怎麼辦?

市民當首次自行檢測後得出陽性結果,均視為陽性個案。

若快速抗原測試呈陽性怎麼辦

留在家中,不應外出;如家居環境許可,應留在自己的房間,並關上房門,其他人不應進入;如必須離開房間時,須正確佩戴緊貼面部的外科口罩。請時刻做好個人防護措施。

24小時內向「2019冠狀病毒快速抗原測試陽性結果人士申報系統」申報結果。若市民使用網上平台有困難,亦可致電1836 119自動系統登記身分證明文件及電話號碼。衞生防護中心會於稍後聯絡有關人士,以完成申報程序。部分市民會被抽樣進行核酸覆核測試。

2019冠狀病毒快速抗原測試陽性結果人士申報系統

觀看使用申報系統示範短片

留意身體狀況:

  • 你的徵狀輕微嗎?如只出現低燒、咳嗽或喉嚨痛,甚至無徵狀,衞生防護中心會按風險評估安排你在社區隔離設施或暫時居家隔離。看鏈結了解接下來的步驟,直至完成隔離:信息圖 | 詳盡版

    居家隔離期間:

    政府會陸續向每位確診者及其同住家人發放抗疫物資包。

    如需日常生活協助,可致電求助熱線1836 119

    如需醫療協助,可致電醫院管理局熱線1836 115

    請瀏覽「快速抗原測試 ‧ 陽性結果 ‧ 尚待入院 ‧ 居安抗疫」資訊站,獲取一系列實用資訊。

  • 你的徵狀嚴重嗎?如你出現以下警告徵狀時,需要直接前往急症室:服用退燒藥後仍然發燒超過攝氏38.5度,並持續多於兩天*;體溫攝氏35度或以下;抽搐;呼吸困難或氣促;失語或不能行動;不能甦醒或不能保持清醒;胸部或腹部疼痛;頭暈或意識混亂或精神狀態明顯轉變;虛弱或腳步不穩;孕婦的胎兒活動減少或停止(適用於妊娠期24周或以上的孕婦);持續不能飲食,或腹瀉/嘔吐多於兩天。
    *請按照藥物指示服用退燒藥,切勿過量服用。

  • 如你是70 歲或以上的年長病人、五歲或以下的幼童、懷孕28週或以上孕婦、或免疫力受抑制的病人,並出現病徵,可預約醫管局2019冠狀病毒病確診個案指定診所或透過遙距診症作醫療查詢。

此網站會不斷更新指引,以便為檢測陽性但尚待入院的人士提供最適切的資訊,敬請留意。

若測試呈陰性怎麼辦?

你目前很可能沒有受感染,但由於快速抗原測試套裝的靈敏度始終有其限制,特別是單次的陰性結果並不能完全排除檢測者已受到感染但正處於潛伏期或檢測者是在感染初期的可能性。市民即使快速檢測呈陰性,仍須繼續保持警覺,採取一切防疫措施。有病徵及曾有暴露風險的人士應於短期內繼續重複進行檢測,並留意身體狀況。

了解更多

想了解更多關於快速抗原測試資訊,請參考常見問題相關信息圖