Wearing Masks in Public Places

Regulation Commencement
Cap. 599I Prevention and Control of Disease (Wearing of Mask) Regulation Comes into operation on 23 July 2020

  1. What are the requirements of the Prevention and Control of Disease (Wearing of Mask) Regulation (Cap. 599I)?
    Cap. 599I empowers the Secretary for Food and Health, for preventing, protecting against, delaying or otherwise controlling the incidence or transmission of the specified disease, to, by notice published in the Gazette, impose compulsory mask wearing requirement for any person who is boarding or on board a public transport carrier, is entering or present in an MTR paid area, or is entering or present in a specified public place, during the specified period.

  2. What is the scope of application of the Regulation?
    The wearing of mask in all public places (indoor or outdoor) is mandated.

  3. When will the direction take place?
    The amendments to Cap. 599I take effect on July 23. According to the Regulation, the Secretary for Food and Health published in the Gazette a notice on August 10, specifying the effective period will continue during the 7-day period from August 12 to 18.

  4. How to define “public place”?
    “Public place” means any place to which for the time being the public or a section of the public may or are permitted to have access, whether on payment or otherwise. If private properties allow access by members of the public for the time being, such as shops, such private properties would fall under the definition of public places and hence the requirements regarding mask wearing in the Regulation will also be applicable at the material time.

  5. How is wearing a mask considered?
    According to the Regulation, a person wearing a mask is a reference to the person wearing a mask over and covering the person’s nose and mouth, with the mask touching the person’s nose, chin and cheeks.

  6. What is the definition of mask?
    The definition of mask includes any covering designed or made (a) to be worn over the nose and mouth (b) to provide the wearer protection against infections or air pollution.

  7. Is private vehicle a public place and whether the driver and passenger therein are subject to the mandatory mask-wearing requirement?
    Generally speaking, private vehicles for personal use, if they are not available for hire by the general public and a person may not gain access to the vehicle for the time being as a member of the public, are not regarded as public place where wearing masks is required under the Regulation. In any case, drivers and passengers should wear masks as far as possible for prevention of the spread of disease.

  8. Is there any exemption from wearing mask under the Regulation?
    The mask wearing requirement does not apply to persons who are under the age of 2, persons who have lawful authority or reasonable excuse for not wearing a mask and persons participating in proceedings in any court, statutory tribunal or statutory board who is directed or permitted by the court, tribunal or board not to wear a mask. The reasonable excuse provided under the Regulation is at Annex.

  9. Can taking off the mask for smoking in outdoor public places be exempted?
    The scope of reasonable excuses provided under Cap. 599I (Question 7 refers) does not include smoking. In another words, any person who is entering or present in public place cannot take off their mask for smoking. Smokers are more likely to touch their mask and face with their hands during smoking, leading to increased chance of infection. Besides, smoking damages lungs and weakens immunity. Smokers who have contracted COVID-19 are more likely to develop severe complications. We appeal to members of the public to avoid smoking in public places, and to quit smoking whenever possible. For information on smoking and COVID-19, please visit the website of the Tobacco and Alcohol Control Office or dial Quit line 1833 183.

  10. Is there exemption for mask wearing during exercise?
    Cap. 599I does not specify any exemption for persons who are doing exercise. We appeal to members of the public to take precautionary measures when they are in public places, including wearing masks to prevent virus transmission in the community. Cap. 599F provides reasonable excuse for not wearing mask if it is reasonably necessary for the person not wearing mask in order to avoid any physical harm to the person.

  11. If a person cannot put on a mask due to physical impairment or disability, will he or she violate the Regulation?
    If a person cannot put on, wear or remove a mask because of any physical or mental illness, impairment or disability, it is considered a reasonable excuse for not wearing a mask under the Regulation.

  12. Can catering or scheduled premises regulated under Cap. 599F be exempted from the mask wearing requirement in indoor public place?
    If the directions in relation to catering or scheduled premises under the Prevention and Control of Disease (Requirements and Directions) (Business and Premises) Regulation (Cap. 599F) permit resumption of operation of the relevant premises, and allow any person in the premises not wearing a mask in circumstances permitted (such as during exercise at fitness centre or having a bath or shower at bathhouse), it is considered as a reasonable excuse for not wearing mask under Cap. 599I.

  13. Who are the authorized persons to initiate enforcement?
    In relation to specified public places, the authorized person means police officers, authorized public officers, managers or owners of that place or part, and persons authorized by that manager or owner. Authorized public officers include public officers from the departments which are responsible for the management of the public places / premises under their respective purviews, such as the Department of Health, Food and Environmental Hygiene Department, Leisure and Cultural Services Department, Housing Department and Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department, etc. The grade / rank of the authorized public officers appointed by the Director of Health is uploaded on this website.
    In relation to a public transport carrier, the authorized person means the police officer, the driver, conductor, inspector, ticket collector, manager or owner of the carrier.
    In relation to an MTR paid area, the authorized person means the police officer and the MTR Corporation Limited.

  14. What are the powers granted to the authorized person?
    If an authorized person reasonably considers that a person is not wearing a mask, he/she may deny the person concerned from entering the specified public place / boarding to the carrier/ entry to the area, or require that person to wear a mask and require that person to leave that place if that person does not comply with the requirement of mask-wearing.
    In relation to a public transport carrier,, if a person fails to comply with a requirement made under the Regulation by a police officer, the police officer may remove that person from the public transport carrier or MTR paid area and use reasonable force.

  15. What is the maximum penalty?
    A person who contravenes the requirement of not wearing mask at public place commits an offence and is liable on conviction to a fine at level 2 ($5,000), or may discharge liability for the offence by paying a fixed penalty of $2,000. The authorized person may deny the person who is not wearing a mask from boarding to the transport carrier/ entering the area, or require that person to wear a mask and require that person to leave that place if that person does not comply with the requirement of mask-wearing. If a person fails to comply with the requirements to wear mask or leave the area upon the authorized person’s request to wear a mask and leave that place, he/ she also commits an offence and is liable on conviction to a fine at level 2 ($5,000). A person who fails to provide personal details to authorized public officers, provides false or misleading information, or obstructs an authorized public officers in performing their function would be liable on conviction to a fine at level 3 ($10,000).

  16. What kind of public transport carriers does the Regulation cover?
    The Regulation applies to public transport carriers set out under its Schedule, including public bus, public bus operated under a passenger service licence, public light bus, school private light bus, taxi, train operated on the Mass Transit Railway, train operated on the KCRC Railway, light rail vehicle operated on the North-west Railway, car used on the tramway, tramcar used on the tramway, cable car etc.
    If a person is boarding or on board a public transport carrier that is not in service, or is entering or present in an MTR paid area that is not open to the public, the relevant provision does not apply.

  17. Who is regulated by the Regulation? Does it include the drivers?
    The Regulation requires that all person over the age of two must wear mask at all times when the person is boarding or on board a public transport carrier; or entering or present in an MTR paid area. The Regulation applies to the drivers as well (except for public transport that is not in service).

在公眾地方須佩戴口罩

規例 生效日期
《預防及控制疾病(佩戴口罩)規例》(第599I章) 2020年7月23日起實施

  1. 《預防及控制疾病(佩戴口罩)規例》(第599I章)有何規定?
    第599I章賦權食物及衞生局局長,為預防、抵禦、阻延或以其他方式控制指明疾病的個案或傳播,藉於憲報刊登的公告,規定在指明期間内,任何人在登上公共交通工具時,或在身處公共交通工具上時;在進入或身處港鐵已付車費區域時;或進入或身處指明公眾地方時須一直佩戴口罩。

  2. 《規例》適用範圍為何?
    任何人進入或身處公眾地方(不論室內或室外)時須一直佩戴口罩。

  3. 措施於何時生效?
    經修訂的第599I章已於2020年7月23日生效。食物及衞生局局長已在8月10日於憲報刊登公告,指明最新規例繼續在八月十二日至十八日的七日期間內適用。

  4. 如何定義公眾地方?
    公眾地方指當其時公眾人士或部分公眾人士可以或獲准在繳費或不繳費下進入的任何地方。如私人物業(例如商鋪)在某些時候容許公眾人士進入,該私人物業就會符合公眾地方的定義,規例中有關佩戴口罩的規定在該等時候亦會適用。

  5. 何謂佩戴口罩?
    根據《規例》,佩戴口罩是指口罩以覆蓋其口和鼻,並使口罩貼着其鼻、下頦和臉頰。

  6. 口罩定義為何?
    口罩定義包括可作以下用途而設計或製造的覆蓋物品:(a)以覆蓋口和鼻的方式佩戴及(b)以保護佩戴者免受感染或空氣污染。 

  7. 私家車是否屬於公眾地方?司機或乘客在車廂內是否必須佩戴口罩?
    一般而言,自用的私家車,如不用作接載公眾人士或出租用途,並不是《規例》 中所指須佩戴口罩的公眾地方。但無論如何,司機及乘客應盡可能佩戴口罩,預防疾病傳播。

  8. 根據《規例》,有否情況可獲豁免佩戴口罩?
    佩戴口罩的規定不適用於未滿2歲的人、有合法權限或合理辯解不佩戴口罩的人,以及正參與在任何法庭、法定審裁處、法定委員會或法定仲裁處進行的法律程序,並獲該法庭、審裁處、委員會或仲裁處指示或准許不佩戴口罩的人。《規例》下合理辯解的範圍見附件

  9. 在室外公眾地方除下口罩吸煙可否獲豁免?
    《規例》下合理辯解的範圍(詳見問題7)並不包括吸煙的情況。換句話說,任何人進入或身處身處公眾地方,均不可除下口罩吸煙。吸煙難免觸摸口罩和口鼻,增加感染2019冠狀病毒病風險。而吸煙更會損害肺部和削弱免疫力。一旦感染冠狀病毒,可能增加成為重症患者的風險。我們呼籲應避免在公眾地方吸煙,並應盡可能趁此機會戒煙。有關吸煙與2019冠狀病毒病關聯的資訊,請參閱衞生署控煙酒辦公室網頁,或致電戒煙熱線1833 183。

  10. 做運動期間佩戴口罩可否獲豁免?
    第599I章並沒有特別豁免運動的人士可不佩戴口罩。我們希望市民身處公眾地方時應採取防疫措施,包括佩戴口罩,防止病毒在社區傳播。但第599I章有就某些不佩戴口罩的情況提供合理辯解,當中包括為避免自己身體受傷害而不佩戴口罩。

  11. 如身體殘障導致未能配戴口罩,會否觸犯規例?
    規例接納因身體上或精神上的疾病、損害或殘疾,而不能戴上、佩戴或除下口罩,作為合理辯解。

  12. 第599F章下餐飲業或表列處所內可否豁免於在室內公眾地方佩戴口罩的規定?
    如餐飲業或表列處所根據《預防及控制疾病(規定及指示)(業務及處所)規例》(第599F章)下准予開放,而指示下准許身處於餐飲業處所或表列處所的人士在特訂情況下(如在浴室浸浴/淋浴期間,或在健身中心運動期間)不佩戴口罩,則可作為第599I章下不佩戴口罩的合理辯解。

  13. 誰是執法人員?
    就指明公眾地方而言,執法人員包括警務人員、獲授權公職人員、該地方或該部分的管理人/擁有人,及該管理人/擁有人授權的人。獲授權公職人員包括負責管理各公眾地方/場所的有關部門的公職人員,如衞生署、食環署、康樂及文化事務署、房屋署及漁農自然護理署等,他們會分別處理其負責處所範圍內的公眾地方。獲衞生署署長根據《規例》授權的公職人員的部門及職級/職位上載於本網頁
    就公共交通工具而言,執法人員包括警務人員、該交通工具的司機、指導員、稽查、收票員、管理人或擁有人。 就港鐵已付車費區域而言,執法人員包括警務人員及香港鐵路有限公司。

  14. 執法人員權限?
    如執法人員合理地認為某人違反《規例》沒有佩戴口罩,可拒絕未有按規定佩戴口罩的人士進入該地方/部分,或登上該交通工具或進入該區域,亦可要求該人佩戴口罩及如該人沒有遵從要求,可要求該人離開該該地方/部分/交通工具或該區域。
    就交通工具而言,如任何人沒有遵從警務人員根據《規例》作出的要求,警務人員可將該人從有關公共交通工具或港鐵已付車費區域移走,及使用合理武力。

  15. 最高懲罰是甚麼?
    任何人違反佩戴口罩的法例規定即屬犯罪,一經定罪最高可處第二級罰款(5,000元),或可藉繳付定額罰款$2,000,解除因該罪行而須負的法律責任。獲授權人員可拒絕未有按規定佩戴口罩的人士登上該交通工具或進入該區域,亦可要求該人佩戴口罩及離開該交通工具或該區域。任何人在未有按規定佩戴口罩、在獲授權人員要求該人佩戴口罩及離開該交通工具或該區域時,未有按要求離開,亦屬犯罪,最高可處第二級罰款(5,000元)。此外,任何人沒有遵從獲授權公職人員要求提供個人資料或向該人員提供虛假或具誤導性資料,即屬犯罪,一經定罪最高可處第三級罰款(10,000元)。

  16. 適用於何種交通工具?
    《規例》的適用交通工具範圍詳列於附表,當中包括公共巴士、根據客運營業證經營的公共巴士、公共小巴、學校私家小巴、的士、地下鐵路上運作的列車、九鐵公司鐵路上運作的列車、西北鐵路上運作的輕便鐵路車輛、電車、纜車、吊車等。
    如該人登上並非服務中的公共交通工具,或身處並非服務中的公共交通工具上;或該人進入或身處並非向公眾開放的港鐵已付車費區域,有關條文則不適用。

  17. 規例是否規管公共交通工具上的司機?
    《規例》規管所有登上公共交通工具,或在身處公共交通工具上;或在進入或身處港鐵已付車費區域的兩歲以上人士,須一直佩戴口罩,包括司機本人(非服務中的公共交通工具除外)。