Strengthening Contact Tracing

The Government has made legislative amendments to the Prevention and Control of Disease (Disclosure of Information) Regulation (Cap. 599D) to empower authorised officers to require any person to provide or disclose information that is relevant to identification and tracing of persons who may be at risk of contracting the disease, such as travel history, places they have visited or people they have come into contact with, etc. in relation to the prevention and control of the spread of diseases. A person commits a criminal offence if he / she fails to comply with the requirement to provide information, or gives to an authorised officer any false or misleading information. The maximum penalty for such offence is a fine of $10,000 and imprisonment for six months.

The Centre for Health Protection (CHP), through its hotlines (2125 1111/2125 1122), allows members of the public to verify the identity of authorised officers if necessary.

The CHP has all along spared no efforts in following up on the epidemiological investigations of confirmed cases and tracing of their close contacts. Nevertheless, in the face of a surge in the number of confirmed cases, the healthcare manpower of the CHP cannot cope with the workload of relevant work. In order to strengthen the contact tracing work, it is necessary for the Government to empower the Director of Health to appoint public officers to assist in conducting contact tracing work.

The personal data obtained for COVID-19 contact tracing will only be used by the Department of Health or relevant department(s) for epidemic prevention purposes, and the arrangements for handling the personal data would be in strict compliance with the Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance (Cap. 486).

加強追蹤密切接觸者

政府已修訂《預防及控制疾病(披露資料)規例》(第599D章),賦權獲授權人員在預防和控制疾病傳播的情況下,要求任何人士提供或披露有關識別和追蹤可能已蒙受有染上疾病的危險的人士的資料,例如外遊記錄、曾到訪處所或曾接觸人士等。不遵從有關提供資料的要求,或向獲授權人員提供虛假或具誤導性資料屬刑事罪行,違例者最高可被罰款10,000元及監禁六個月。

衞生防護中心透過其熱線(電話號碼:2125 1111/2125 1122),供市民在有需要的情況下查核獲授權人員的身分。

衞生防護中心一直盡力跟進確診個案的流行病學調查及密切接觸者追蹤的工作。然而對於大量確診個案湧現,衞生防護中心的醫護人手遠不足以應付有關工作。為了加強接觸者追蹤的工作,政府有需要賦權獲衞生署署長授權的公職人員,協助進行接觸者追蹤的工作。

所有為進行2019冠狀病毒病接觸者追蹤而取得的個人資料,只會供衞生署或相關部門作防疫用途,而且處理有關個人資料的安排必會符合《個人資料(私隱)條例》(第486章)的規定。