Compulsory Testing for Certain Persons


Compulsory testing notice


Specified premises

For a list of specified premises, please press here .

For other most updated information, please also refer to daily press releases.

Testing routes for persons subject to compulsory testing:

(Note: Persons subject to compulsory testing must keep the SMS notification containing the result of the test for checking by a law enforcement officer when the officer requires the persons to provide information about their undergoing the specified test. The Government has updated the testing routes applicable to compulsory testing notices, which only include those where SMS confirming negative test results would be issued to persons who underwent testing afterwards. The routes below are for reference only. Persons subject to compulsory testing should carefully read the relevant announcements.)

  1. To obtain a deep throat saliva specimen collection pack from any of the designated post offices, vending machines set up at MTR stations or 47 designated general outpatient clinics (GOPCs) of the Hospital Authority (see the distribution points and time, and the specimen collection points and time at https://www.coronavirus.gov.hk/eng/early-testing.html);
  2. To self-arrange testing provided by private laboratories which are recognised by the Department of Health and can issue SMS notifications in respect of test results (see the list at https://www.coronavirus.gov.hk/pdf/List_of_recognised_laboratories_RTPCR.pdf);
  3. To attend any Community Testing Centres (see the list at https://www.communitytest.gov.hk/en/);
  4. To visit any mobile specimen collection stations (see the list at https://www.communitytest.gov.hk/_doc/pdf/mts-list.pdf);
  5. To undergo testing at any GOPCs as instructed by a medical professional of the Hospital Authority; or
  6. To use a specimen bottle distributed to the relevant specified premises by the Centre for Health Protection (if available), and return the specimen bottle with the sample collected as per the relevant guidelines.
If persons who are subject to compulsory testing have symptoms, they should seek medical attention immediately and undergo testing as instructed by a medical professional. They should not attend the Community Testing Centres. Furthermore, persons who are subject to testing should, as far as reasonably practicable, take appropriate personal disease prevention measures including wearing a mask and maintaining hand hygiene; and unless for the purpose of undergoing the specified test, stay at their place of residence or private premises and avoid going to their workplace until the test result is ascertained as far as possible.
Any enquiries on compulsory testing arrangements may be addressed to the hotline at 6275 6901 which operates daily from 9am to 6pm. If persons who are subject to compulsory testing plan to conduct testing at any of the Community Testing Centres, they can check the centre's appointment status in advance. The hotlines of the Community Testing Centres are at www.communitytest.gov.hk/en/info/.

High risk groups or high exposure groups

The Government urges all individuals who are in doubt about their own health conditions, or individuals with infection risks (such as individuals who visited places with epidemic outbreaks or contacted confirmed cases) to undergo testing promptly for early identification of infected persons. The FHB will publish compulsory testing notices regarding particular groups when necessary taking into account the epidemic development and the testing participation rate.

Staff members of RCHEs, RCHDs and nursing homes (5th round)

  • Persons who are employed by and will be on duty at RCHEs , RCHDs, nursing homes and day service units attached to the premises of residential care homes, or who will provide services to residents or users through hire-of-service contracts with residential care homes and the aforementioned units between 28 January to 6 February 2021 (including full-time, part-time and relief staff), to undergo polymerase chain reaction-based nucleic acid tests for COVID-19 between 18 to 27 January 2021 according to the requirements and procedures specified in the notice. The samples must be collected by using combined nasal and throat swabs and must not be taken by the person to be tested. The staff of the aforementioned institutions must choose to undergo the specified tests as below:

    1. To receive free specimen collection services in any of the Community Testing Centres (if any) (see the list at https://www.communitytest.gov.hk/en/), Temporary Testing Centres (see the list at https://www.swd.gov.hk/en/index/site_pubsvc/page_supportser/sub_ttc/), or mobile specimen collection stations (see the list at https://www.coronavirus.gov.hk/eng/early-testing.html);
    2. To have specimen collection by a healthcare professional or a trained personnel as arranged by institution operators for testing at private laboratories listed on "COVID-19 Thematic Website" (see the list at https://www.coronavirus.gov.hk/pdf/List_of_recognised_laboratories_RTPCR.pdf); or
    3. To self-arrange testing provided by private laboratories listed on “COVID-19 Thematic Website” at their own expenses (see the list at https://www.coronavirus.gov.hk/pdf/List_of_recognised_laboratories_RTPCR.pdf).
    Institution operators are required to keep records of their staff having received specified tests and the results within the timeframe specified by the Government. Institution operators also have to co-operate with the Checking Officers (Compulsory Testing) of the SWD who are enforcing the regulations within the residential care homes. For details, please refer to this press release.

  • Regarding the past 4th round of compulsory testing for staff, please refer to the relevant press releases.

Taxi drivers

  • Persons who intend to, at any time during the period from 25 December 2020 to 23 January 2021, drive a taxi are to undergo polymerase chain reaction-based nucleic acid tests for COVID-19 as below:
    1. Dial the registration hotline 1836 168 from December 7, 9am to 9pm daily, to make an appointment for one of the testing at the Dedicated Testing Centres for taxi drivers ; or
    2. Arrange testing by at own expenses in a private laboratory recognised by the Department of Health (DH) (see the list at www.coronavirus.gov.hk/pdf/List_of_recognised_laboratories_RTPCR.pdf); or
    3. Arrange testing by at own expenses in any of the Community Testing Centres set up by the Government (see the list at www.communitytest.gov.hk/en/), and undergo testing as instructed by the relevant staff.
    The taxi drivers concerned should obtain and keep the test report or the relevant SMS or email notification after the testing for checking by the enforcement agencies during the period from 25 December 25 2020 to 23 January 2021. For details, refer to this press release.

Inbound travellers

  • For persons subject to compulsory quarantine who arrived at Hong Kong during the period of December 2 to December 23, 2020 and have stayed in the UK, as well as persons subject to compulsory quarantine who arrived at Hong Kong during the period of December 2 to December 24, 2020 and have stayed in the remaining places outside China: Apart from the requirement to undergo testing at the community testing centres or the designated quarantine hotels on the 19th or 20th day following their arrival at Hong Kong, the relevant persons have to stay at their place of residence, private premises or the place of quarantine specified on the quarantine order until the test result is available. If the persons who arrive at Hong Kong from the UK and are subject to testing need to take public transport for the purpose of undergoing testing or for going to their place of stay, the persons can only travel direct by taking taxis and cannot disembark on the way.
    Persons subject to compulsory testing must register to undergo testing by presenting the identity document stated on the Quarantine Order and, as far as practicable, the Quarantine Order. Persons subject to compulsory testing must also keep the SMS (mobile phone text message) notification containing the result of the test, and provide the relevant SMS notification for checking by a law enforcement officer when the officer requires the persons to provide information about their undergoing the test. For details, refer to this press release.

Direction issued by a registered medical practitioner

The Government published in the Gazette the specifications under Cap. 599J, which until 22 January 2021, continue to empower a registered medical practitioner to require, by a compulsory testing direction, any person whom the medical practitioner attends to in the course of professional practice and clinically suspects to have contracted COVID-19 to undergo a COVID-19 nucleic acid test. Persons who receive a compulsory testing direction should undergo a test within two days after the issue date of the written direction (the testing deadline).

Persons who are subject to such testing may choose to undergo a test as below:

  1. To use the specimen bottle provided by the registered medical practitioner who issued the compulsory testing direction to collect a deep throat saliva specimen and submit the specimen bottle to designated specimen collection points by the testing deadline (see the specimen collection points and time at www.coronavirus.gov.hk/eng/early-testing.html). Having reported the case to the DH, the registered medical practitioner who issued the direction will be notified of the test result; or
  2. To self-arrange testing provided by private laboratories recognised by the DH (see the list at https://www.coronavirus.gov.hk/pdf/List_of_recognised_laboratories_RTPCR.pdf) by the testing deadline and submit the test result to the medical practitioner who issued the compulsory testing direction or his clinic staff by electronic mail, fax, or by hardcopy within four days after the testing deadline.

Frequently Asked Questions

  1. Why do we need to put in place these regulations?
    Strengthening COVID-19 testing is an integral part of the epidemic control strategy, which can help to slow down the transmission of the virus by early identification, early isolation and early treatment.

  2. What is the legal basis for the Regulation (Cap. 599J)?
    To further strengthen testing, the Government has made the Prevention and Control of Disease (Compulsory Testing for Certain Persons) Regulation (Cap. 599J). The Regulation provides a legal framework for the Government to specify by compulsory testing notice published in the Gazette, a category or description of persons who are required to undergo a test for COVID-19, taking into account the epidemic development. Examples include persons who live or work in specified premises with outbreak of cases, persons of a particular occupation, or persons who are close to completion of the compulsory 14-day quarantine upon their arrival at Hong Kong. The Secretary for Food and Health (SFH) will publish the relevant notices when necessary taking into account the epidemic development and the testing participation rate. In addition, the Regulation allows SFH to specify by notice published in the Gazette a period of not more than 14 days, during which a specified medical practitioner can require a person whom he clinically suspects has contracted COVID-19 to undergo testing by written direction issued to that person.
    Moreover, Cap. 599J provides the legal framework for the Government to, according to the needs of infection control, restrict movement of persons subject to compulsory testing, or seal off premises with epidemic outbreaks until all persons on the premises have undergone testing and the test results are ascertained. (See also FAQ 3 below.)

  3. What is a "restriction-testing declaration"?
    Cap. 599J provides the legal framework for the Secretary for Food and Health to make a "restriction-testing declaration" (declaration) when a considerable number of persons who have recently contracted COVID-19 have recently been present on the premises, or a person who has recently contracted the disease and who has recently been present on the premises is likely to have been in close proximity to a considerable number of persons on the premises, and accordingly persons who are present on the premises are being exposed to a significant risk of contracting the disease, and it is necessary to conduct testing for persons on the premises promptly and extensively in order to prevent, protect against, delay and control the transmission of the disease. After the declaration is made, relevant persons are required to stay in the premises until all such persons have undergone testing and the test results are ascertained. If necessary, such as when there is suspicion on environmental contamination onsite which increases the infection risks of persons therein, the Government may transfer persons on the premises to a designated place to wait for the test result having regard to the situation, or send them to quarantine centres for compulsory quarantine under the existing mechanism.

  4. What are the legal consequences for contravening the aforementioned regulations?
    The Government has increased the penalties for breaching requirements under the relevant Regulations in order to create the necessary deterrence effect. The relevant legislative amendments took effect from 11 December 2020. Any person who fails to comply with the compulsory testing notice or compulsory testing direction commits an offence and the maximum penalty upon conviction is a fine at level 3 ($10,000). The fixed penalty for discharging liability for the offence is $5,000. The person would also be issued with a compulsory testing order requiring him/her to undergo testing within a specified timeframe. Failure to comply with the order is an offence and the offender would be liable to a fine at level 4 ($25,000) and to imprisonment for six months.
    Any person who breaches a restriction-testing declaration or a direction to be transferred to a designated place commits an offence and may be liable to a maximum fine at level 4 ($25,000) and imprisonment for six months.

  5. Are there other advice and more information?
    To reduce transmission risk, persons who underwent testing are to stay at home and avoid going out when waiting for test results.
    Any enquiries on compulsory testing arrangements may be addressed to the hotline at 6275 6901 which operates daily from 9am to 6pm.

Useful links and resources

Infographic

Poster

對若干人士強制檢測


強制檢測公告


指明場所

按此查閱指明場所名單

有關其他最新資訊,可同時參閱每日新聞公報

受檢人士可選擇以下檢測途徑:

(註:受檢人士須保存載有檢測結果的電話短訊通知,並在執法人員要求提供有關該人士進行指明檢測的資料時,提供有關電話短訊供其查核。政府已更新適用於強制檢測公告的檢測途徑,當中只包括能於檢測後向接受檢測者發出電話短訊確認陰性結果的檢測途徑。以下檢測途徑僅供參考,受檢人士應細閱相關公告。)

  1. 於指定郵政局、港鐵站設置的自動派發機或醫院管理局(醫管局)47間指定普通科門診診所索取深喉唾液測試樣本收集包,並把樣本交回指定樣本收集點(派發點及時間,以及樣本收集點及時間見https://www.coronavirus.gov.hk/chi/early-testing.html);
  2. 自行安排接受由衞生署認可,並可就檢測結果發出電話短訊通知的私營化驗所提供的檢測(名單見https://www.coronavirus.gov.hk/pdf/List_of_recognised_laboratories_RTPCR.pdf);
  3. 於社區檢測中心接受檢測服務(名單見https://www.communitytest.gov.hk/zh-HK/);
  4. 於流動採樣亭接受檢測服務(名單見 https://www.communitytest.gov.hk/_doc/pdf/mts-list.pdf);
  5. 於醫管局普通科門診診所按照醫管局醫護人員的指示接受檢測;或
  6. 使用衞生防護中心派發到相關指明地方的樣本瓶(如有),並按有關指示交回已採樣本的檢測樣本收集瓶。
受檢人士如有病徵,應立即求醫,按照醫護人員的指示接受檢測,不應前往社區檢測中心。此外,受檢人士應在合理可行範圍內,採取適當個人防疫措施包括佩戴口罩及保持手部衞生,以及除為進行指明檢測外,盡可能在確定檢測結果前留在其居住地點或私人處所,並避免到工作處所。
任何人士就強制檢測安排有疑問,可於上午九時至下午六時致電熱線6275 6901查詢。受檢人士如欲前往個別社區檢測中心作檢測,可先查詢中心的預約情況。社區檢測中心熱線電話見https://www.communitytest.gov.hk/zh-HK/info/

高風險或高接觸群組

政府呼籲所有對身體狀況有懷疑的人士,或有感染風險的人士(如曾到訪有疫情爆發的地方或曾接觸確診個案)盡快進行檢測,以有效地及早識別感染者。食物及衞生局會視乎疫情發展及檢測參與率,在有需要時對個別群組作出強制檢測公告。

安老院、殘疾人士院舍及護養院員工 (第五輪)

  • 由安老院、殘疾人士院舍、護養院以及附設於安老院或殘疾人士院舍的處所的日間服務單位僱用並在2021年1月28日至2月6日期間值勤,或透過與院舍或上述單位訂立的外聘服務合約在該期間向住客或使用者提供服務的人士(包括全職、兼職及替假員工),須於2021年1月18日至27日期間,按照公告指明的規定及程序,進行關於2019冠狀病毒病的聚合酶連鎖反應核酸檢測(指明檢測),而有關檢測樣本必須是非自行採集的鼻腔和咽喉合併拭子樣本。上述院舍員工須選擇以下其中一個途徑,接受指明檢測:

    1. 於社區檢測中心(名單見https://www.communitytest.gov.hk/zh-HK/)、臨時檢測中心(如有)(名單見https://www.swd.gov.hk/tc/index/site_pubsvc/page_supportser/sub_ttc/)、或流動採樣站(名單見https://www.coronavirus.gov.hk/chi/early-testing.html)接受免費病毒檢測服務;
    2. 透過院舍經營者/營辦人自行安排由醫護人員或受過訓練的人員採集樣本,並於2019冠狀病毒病專題網頁上所刊登的認可化驗所進行檢測(名單見https://www.coronavirus.gov.hk/pdf/List_of_recognised_laboratories_RTPCR.pdf);或
    3. 由員工自費自行安排於2019冠狀病毒病專題網頁上所刊登的認可化驗所進行檢測(名單見https://www.coronavirus.gov.hk/pdf/List_of_recognised_laboratories_RTPCR.pdf)。
    院舍經營者/營辦人必須備存有關員工在政府指明的時段內接受指明檢測的記錄及結果,並須配合社署核查主任(強制檢測)於院舍內執行《規例》的相關工作。詳情參閱此新聞公報

  • 較早前第四輪員工強制檢測,請參閱相關公報。

的士司機

  • 於2020年12月25日至2021年1月23日期間駕駛的士的人士,須在12月9日至22日(共兩星期)期間,選擇以下其中一個途徑,接受2019冠狀病毒病的聚合酶連鎖反應核酸檢測:
    1. 12月7日起,每日上午9時至下午9時致電登記熱線1836 168,預約登記到其中一間為的士司機而設的專屬檢測中心接受檢測服務;或
    2. 自費自行前往由衞生署認可私營化驗所(名單見www.coronavirus.gov.hk/pdf/List_of_recognised_laboratories_RTPCR.pdf);或
    3. 自費自行前往政府設立的社區檢測中心(名單見www.communitytest.gov.hk/zh-HK/),並按相關職員的指引進行檢測。
    相關的士司機在接受檢測後,須取得並保存檢測報告或載有檢測結果的電話短訊或電郵通知,以於2020年12月25至2021年1月23日期間供執法人員查核。詳情參閱此新聞公報

抵港人士

  • 在2020年12月2日至12月23日期間到達香港而曾在英國逗留並須接受強制檢疫的人士,以及在2020年12月2日至12月24日期間由中國以外其餘地區到達香港並須接受強制檢疫的人士,除了須在到港後第19天或第20天到社區檢測中心或在指定檢疫酒店接受檢測外,亦必須在確定檢測結果前留在該人的居住地點、私人處所或在檢疫令上指明的檢疫地點(下稱「逗留地點」)。如受檢人士因前往檢測或返回逗留地點而須乘搭公共交通工具,只可乘搭的士,而且中途不能下車。
    受檢人士須出示檢疫令上列明的身分證明文件,以及在可行範圍內出示檢疫令,以登記進行檢測。受檢人士亦須保存載有檢測結果的電話短訊通知,並在執法人員要求提供有關該人士進行檢測的資料時,提供有關電話短訊通知供其查核。詳情參閱此新聞公報

註冊醫生發出的指示

政府就第599J章下的指明刊憲,繼續賦權註冊醫生至2021年1月22日,如於專業診治過程中,按臨牀判斷懷疑某人已染上2019冠狀病毒病,該醫生可發出強制檢測指示,規定該人接受2019冠狀病毒病核酸檢測。收到強制檢測指示的人士應在指示發出日期的兩天內(即「檢測限期」)完成檢測。

該些受檢人士可選擇以下檢測途徑:

  1. 使用發出強制檢測指示的註冊醫生所提供的樣本瓶,採集深喉唾液樣本,並在檢測限期內交還樣本瓶到指定樣本收集點(樣本收集點及時間見www.coronavirus.gov.hk/chi/early-testing.html)。發出上述指示並已通報衞生署的註冊醫生會獲通知檢測結果;或
  2. 於檢測限期內自行安排接受由衞生署認可私營化驗所提供的檢測(名單見https://www.coronavirus.gov.hk/pdf/List_of_recognised_laboratories_RTPCR.pdf),並於檢測限期後四天內透過電郵、傳真或紙本的方式向發出強制檢測指示的註冊醫生或其醫務所人員提交檢測結果。

常見問題

  1. 為何要訂立有關規例?
    加強2019冠狀病毒病的檢測,達致早發現、早隔離、早治療,可抑制病毒傳播,是抗疫策略中的重要一環。

  2. 對若干人士強制檢測有何法律依據?
    為進一步加強檢測力度,政府訂立《預防及控制疾病(對若干人士強制檢測)規例》(《規例》)(第599J章)。《規例》提供了法律框架,讓政府可以按疫情發展,藉於憲報刊登的強制檢測公告,指明屬某類別或描述的人士接受2019冠狀病毒病的檢測。例子包括於有疫情爆發的指明處所生活或工作的人士、某特定職業的人士,或已接近完成14天強制檢疫的抵港人士。食物及衞生局局長會視乎疫情發展及檢測參與率,在有需要時作出相關的公告。此外,《規例》列明,食物及衞生局局長可於憲報刊登公告指明一段不超過14日的期間,在這段期間內,如指明的註冊醫生按臨床判斷懷疑某人已感染2019冠狀病毒病,可藉向該人發出書面指示,要求該人接受檢測。
    《規例》亦提供法律框架,讓政府可按防疫需要,限制接受強制檢測人士的活動,或封鎖有疫情爆發的處所,直至處所內所有人士已完成檢測而有關檢測結果已獲確定。(另見常見問題第三條。)

  3. 什麼是限制與檢測宣告?
    《規例》提供了法律框架,當有相當數目近期染上2019冠狀病毒病的人士在近期身處於某處所,或有受感染人士最近曾到訪某處所,而相當可能曾經近距離接觸處所內相當數目的人士,因而令身處該處所的人蒙受重大的感染風險,有必要盡快及盡量廣泛地為處所內的人進行檢測,以預防、抵禦、阻延或控制疾病的傳播,食物及衞生局局長可透過發出限制與檢測宣告,要求有關人士必須逗留在該處所,直至所有有關人士已完成檢測而有關檢測結果已獲確定,方可離開。如有需要,例如懷疑環境受到污染,令留在該處所的人士的感染風險增加,政府亦可按情況轉移處所內人士到指定地點等候檢測結果,或按現行機制要求處所內人士到檢疫中心接受強制檢疫。

  4. 違反上述規定有什麼法律後果?
    政府經已就違反相關規例的規定提高罰則,以達致所需的阻嚇力。有關的法例修訂於2020年12月11日生效。任何人沒有遵從強制檢測公告或強制檢測指示,即屬犯罪,一經定罪最高可處第三級罰款(10,000 元)。定額罰款以解除因該罪行而須負的法律責任為 5,000 元。該人士亦會收到強制檢測令,要求該人士於指明期間內接受檢測。不遵從強制檢測令即屬犯罪,並可處第四級罰款(25,000元)及監禁六個月。
    任何人違反限制及檢測宣告或轉移至指明地方的指示,即屬犯罪,可處第四級罰款(25,000元)及監禁六個月。

  5. 有沒有其他建議及更多資料?
    為減低傳播風險,受檢人士在等候檢測結果期間應留在家中,不要外出。
    任何人士就強制檢測安排有疑問,可於上午九時至下午六時致電熱線6275 6901查詢。

有用連結及資源

信息圖表

海報